The New Face of Terror.

cvr-01a

I cannot believe this boy is capable of such hideousness.
How did we get here? What is this world?
His face doesn’t leave my mind 😦

I am stunned that the boy-terror Azam Amir Kasav (above) is still alive.

On the night of Wednesday-Thursday Azam and his colleague opened fire at CST before creating havoc at Metro and then moving on to Girgaum Chowpatty in a stolen Skoda, and where they were intercepted by a team from the Gamdevi police station . Azam shot dead assistant police inspector Tukaram Umbale.

But in that encounter Azam’s colleague was killed and he himself was injured. He pretended to be dead giving rise to the news that two terrorists had been killed. However as the ‘bodies’ were being taken to Nair Hospital, the accompanying cops figured that one of the men was breathing.

According to sources, the casualty ward of Nair hospital was evacuated and the Anti-Terror Squad moved in to interrogate him. Azam who was tight-lipped initially, cracked upon seeing the mutilated body of his colleague and pleaded with the medical staff at Nair to save his life. “I do not want to die,” he reportedly said. “Please put me on saline.”

He is 21 and has cracked under pressure after a bullet was removed from his hand and 50 hours into this saga, revealing a plot to reduce the Taj to rubble and do a “9/11.” He speaks fluent English and was born in Pakistan, he says he was instructed to kill kill kill till his last breath..

How awful is it that I look at him and do not hate him? I feel like we could reason with him, that he is “just like us.” Is it because he speaks English? He has a decent haircut? He’s dressed like me? I would not feel the same sympathy for someone who looked the part of a terrorist spewing religious rhetoric as I have become accustomed to imagining.

I don’t know what this means. Or what it says about me.

I don’t know how I cannot connect him with the evil he has caused. I have first hand accounts of him laughing as he gunned down innocent men, women and children. I know what he has done.

But I wonder… Does he do this for 70 virgins in heaven? No. Can’t be. I think he’s angry, just like us and thinks he’s doing something about it. I shudder to think how many people of his faith will relate to him if I almost do…

I cannot believe this boy is capable of such hideousness.
How did we get here? What is this world?
His face doesn’t leave my mind 😦

12 Comments

Filed under 26/11 Terrorism, Random Thoughts, Strange But True

12 responses to “The New Face of Terror.

  1. Lex

    Hey guys check out this new website celebmemorial.com In memory all the celebrities that died it’s got videos and stuff really nice!

  2. Why? If i could ask some questions to this young man, i would ask- “Why? What do you gain from destroying India? Which religion supports killing to better themselves? WHY? What kind of god will accept you into his open arms and say-well done, son. Good job on killing all those innocent people-which god?” God, I can’t shake off these questions, no matter what. So, his plan was to kill all & then what? Imagine India wiped out, and then ‘they’ will live here peacefully- is that it? I also cant shake off this kid’s image from my mind. Its incredulous that this ‘kid’ and his buddies could wreak this much havoc

  3. missmalini

    And yes Razz, it is very spooky because he really represents the face of this for me. Perhaps some kind of infamy was written in his destiny I almost wish it was shallow celebrity kind instead of for his remorseless massacre. The saddest thing is torturing him will also only give his leaders more fuel for the fires they are starting. How do we open his eyes?

  4. missmalini

    So I think I might be starting to become a little obsessed with this. I can’t stop wondering where it all starts. Obviously no one is born evil right? Perhaps they have no choice if from their childhood they are totally brainwashed. I can’t even bring myself to post them here but on youtube I found a series of Hamas children’s educational videos and cartoons where a giant rabbit or Mickey Mouse is telling the kids to be martyrs and use AK47s to save the poor children on Palestine. Also a girl (no older than 9) appears in most of these videos as a junior presenter taking calls from 12-year-olds with advice on how to take over the world and run it as it should be run. I know too many people of the Islamic faith to ever believe this is what their religion stands for and it breaks my heart to constantly hear people confuse “terrorist” with “Pakistani” or “Muslim.” That is NOT the same thing just a pure technicality because they happen to be born their or into a certain faith. You cannot attribute a religion or country to people who have none and claim to do it all for both. I think the first step for all of us it to recognize that terrorists (for any cause) have no country, and no religion. That is the only way they will loose steam, don’t you think? This boy of 21 in his Versace tee and cargos has been manufactured to represent the next generation of horror how can we get to them first?

  5. Razz

    OMG!…I can TOTALLY relate to you guys.I’m exactly in the same situation.
    I googled this guy for about 5 times today…for no reason whatsoever..

    I dont hate him either and yet condemn the killing.I’m kinda in between.Obviously,these attacks were horrible but I dont blame this guy.He is only 21.Brainwashed…or not brainwashed,just felt angry about what was happening in Kashmir,etc..and wanted to express his anger.But didnt know how.

    Anybody find it weird that he was the only one who was caught on camera and pictures clearly and he was the only one of the ten that survived?..
    Coincidence…=O

  6. missmalini

    There’s an SMS that’s been doing the rounds about a Peaceful March on December 3rd at the Gateway of India. For all those in Mumbai, this is one way in which we can all collectively rally together for a good cause and send out a united message. For those of you not in the city, your prayers and wishes will be carried there with us.

    Let us all come together at Gateway of India coming Wednesday December 3rd at 6 pm.

    One Spirit. One Mumbai.

  7. kiran bhanushali

    You have got to a good point there, the Indian authorities need to get it out of him as to what his line of thinking is and how did he get to such a mental state where he just stopped thinking for himself and went about with a single minded devotion to kill. Once such a reason is found they then need to work with the Pakistani government if they are willing to help out and find out where exactly such camps are located inside of Pakistan and flush out such leaders who are filling such absolute junk in the minds of kids who cant think for themselves

  8. Bhavika

    I think the reason you can’t connect terror with this boy is the images we’ve been fed by the media time and again as the faces of terror. Till now the faces were of men who had long beards and wore the traditional Muslim skull caps, of men who covered their heads with checkered cloths (the Ghutra, if I’m not mistaken) that are associated with Muslims. They were faces of extremists. This is the first time that a boy who looks like someone you or me would pass on the street is responsible for such terror! The stereotype that has been propagated time and again is the problem here.
    It breaks my heart to think that a boy so young is capable of such vileness.

  9. Rushali

    This face hasnt left me in peace ever since i saw it on television. The face is ruthless but i cant help but notice the innocence that has given way to such barbaric acts. I pity Azam Amir Qasab completely and hate those cowards who brainwashed a 21 year old to such crudity. If they want to fight a war they should come forward themselves and not use young minds in such a despicable manner.

  10. Amber

    I am muslim, however when I see that face of this bastard all I can see is a coward, selfish and ruthless hypocrite. I am so disturbed and angered at what these extremists are doing to the world. They say that they are fighting for Islam, so why then do I not relate with any of it ? The reason is that they are not true muslims they pick and choose what is convenient for them or what they really want to do. This incident is an eye opener for strayed muslim youths in India. They have to see through the fog in their minds that this is just a ploy to damage the prosperity, economy and peace of India.

  11. amrita

    You know.. as disturbing as it might sound, I feel the same way as you.. and I don’t know why. I actually feel pity for these lost souls who are brainwashed by filthy bastards, claiming that they are doing justice.. who in the end will suffer? Out of this, so many young people have lost their loved ones.. who will take care of them? This teenager has no idea what he has done, and what the future holds for his faith and his people, and his own country (Pakistan). I don’t know what to make of him or his so called ‘colleagues’ when I think back to the picture of him smiling as he is killing innocent people in Mumbai. It’s ruthless and barbaric, yet I can’t blame him completely… I blame the assholes who have taught him, and taken away his innocence… I blame his peers who possibly never stopped him or egged him on.. don’t know. But I don’t place sole responsibility on him. I feel pity for the youth of this religion, what is to become of them? How can they justify this? How? How can they stop all of the impending stereotypes now? I think it’s time that the Muslim youth stepped up and questioned what they are being taught. Stop doing and start questioning. Learn for yourself, do not allow someone else’s interpretations to rule you. Question everything. Save others like him, before it’s too late, from destruction at his own hands.

  12. avinashbhojwani

    ans to your question are present in the very same world.

    Just sit and think of the worst things that can happen to you.

    Every human is still a human being and these so called terrorists have a heart as well.

    Same things are not same for two persons.

Leave a Reply

