Queen of the Silver Screen.

Surekha Sikri

Surekha Sikri

Surekha Sikri’s been on the Bollywood radar for ages. Literally. She’s even bagged the National Film Award for Best Supporting Actress  (Tamas & Mammo) twice! Pretty impressive for an actress in her seventies. You’ll catch her most often as the bold & bitter “Dadisa” on Balika Vadhu and a much more amicable Babho auntyin Saath Phere. (I confess I haven’t caught the second soap much at all but was oddly addicted to Balika Vadhu when it first started. Don’t ask.) I also recall her awesomely realistic bitter sweet performance in Zubeidaa (super film by the way.)

Garth

Jennie Garth at 16 & 36

So, do you ever wonder what you’ll look like in your 70s? (Or even on the way to 40 if you doubt you’ll make it that far.) I often do, especially since I caught an episode of the revived Beverly Hills 90210 with the former sorority wild-child Kelly Taylor (played by Jennie Garth) as a reformed (and oh-so-slightly wrinkled)  school counselor. Maybe I’m just being overly sensitive but I think its just plain mean to take an iconic TV drama from my “youth” and repopulate it with the new “kids” on the blocks. I mean, how is that supposed to make me feel? The thing is I’m not in denial about getting older (not anymore anyway) and I probably won’t care 20 years from now, but if I could just enjoy the next 10 years without any more subtle reminders from my idiot box I’d really appreciate it.

1 Comment

Filed under Bollywood, Rich & Restless, Strange But True

One response to “Queen of the Silver Screen.

  1. Shilpa

    I was a big fan of Surekha Sikri in Baanegi Aapni Baat back when I lived in Mumbai. Isn’t her last name the same as mine btw?!

Leave a Reply

